Activities for schools & teachers

Travel through time at the Clock & Watch Museum Winterthur

Travel through time at the Clock & Watch Museum Winterthur

There is nowhere better to explain the phenomenon of time and the history of time measurement than in the immediate vicinity of historic clocks. Here, children and young people can turn the wheel of time in an age-appropriate way and discover for themselves that every clock ticks slightly differently.

Tours and workshops for school classes from primary to upper secondary level are currently offered.

Opening hours Clock & Watch Museum Winterthur

Tuesday to Sunday

10 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Thursday

10 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Monday

closed

Please note our special opening hours on public holidays.

New Year’s Day, Tuesday, 1 January 2019, closed
Local holiday, Wednesday, 2 January 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Fasnacht carnival, Sunday, 10 March 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Fasnacht carnival, Monday, 11 March 2019, closed
Maundy Thursday, Thursday, 18 April 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Good Friday, Friday, 19 April 2019, closed
Easter Sunday, Sunday, 21 April 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Easter Monday, Monday, 22 April 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Labour Day, Wednesday, 1 May 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Ascension Day, Thursday, 30 May 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Whit Sunday, Sunday, 9 June 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Whit Monday, Monday, 10 June 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
St. Alban's Festival, Saturday, 29 June 2019, closed
St. Alban's Festival, Sunday, 30 June 2019, closed
National holiday, Thursday, 1 August 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Christmas Eve, Tuesday, 24 December 2019, 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Christmas Day, Wednesday, 25 December 2019, closed
Boxing Day, Thursday, 26 December 2019, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
New Year’s Eve, Tuesday, 31 December 2019, 10 a.m. – 4 p.m.
New Year’s Day, Wednesday, 1 January 2020, closed
Local holiday, Thursday, 2 January 2020, 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Directions & parking

Getting here by public transport

Walk from Winterthur main railway station to Untertor, continue along Marktgasse as far as the fountain, turn right into Untere Kirchgasse and continue to Kirchplatz. This takes just under 10 minutes on foot from the station.

Or travel two stops on bus number 1, 3, 5 or 14 from the main railway station, alighting at the Stadthaus stop. Then turn right into Oberer Graben, right into Marktgasse, left into Obere Kirchgasse and continue to Kirchplatz.

Online timetable ZVV
Online timetable SBB

Getting here by car

From Zurich take the Winterthur-Töss exit, from St. Gallen take the Oberwinterthur exit and from Schaffhausen take the Winterthur-Ohringen exit and proceed to the Technikum-Nord car park (no parking spaces in the immediate vicinity of the museum), then walk through Steinberggasse and Obere Kirchgasse to Kirchplatz.

 

Deliveries / Dropping off and picking up passengers

On Tuesday mornings and Friday mornings, access via Technikumstrasse, Neumarkt, Steinberggasse and Obere Kirchgasse is closed because of the street market.

Uhrenmuseum Winterthur
Kirchplatz 14
CH- 8400 Winterthur

T +41 (0)52 267 51 36 / 28

uhrenmuseum@win.ch